A new direction

Hey guys,

I know many of you have not followed this blog recently and quite honestly I too have been pretty much neglecting over the past 2 years.  For those two reasons I’ll be changing it’s format once more.

With the MMO industry going through a vast series of rapid design ideas, trying to hook new subscribers and keep their current ones around through the economic down turn, I thought it’d be a great time to begin sifting through the wreckage. Once maybe twice a week I’ll release a short review of a featured design decision of a specific mmorpg, look at how it was received, if it generated the desired results of the developer, and if there was any lasting effect on the industry because of it.

I’ll also give my opinion of how either the idea could be changed for the better or implemented new or current games. An example of one possible Blog post would be the “Deed” system of LotRO and how it was so successful that it later influenced both the “Achievement” system in WoW and the “Lore Book” in WAR.

The other half of this new direction will be semi-daily meditations on interesting happenings in mmorpgs as well as various important new articles that I find affect the industry as a whole.

I hope you enjoy the new format and feel free to post your own argument if you believe my faulty. =)

  -D^t

Leave a Reply

